Christine Rasche Award


Congratulations to our 2024 Christine Rasche Award recipient, Alexis Faulkner!

For Outstanding Master’s Thesis Research 


To honor the memory of Christine Rasche and her long-time contributions to the Homicide Research Working Group, the membership has established a $500 thesis award for the outstanding master’s thesis with a focus on homicide, intimate partner violence, and/or lethal violence. In addition, up to $500 is provided to help cover expenses for the presentation at the annual HRWG meeting, which is usually held in June. One award may be given annually if eligible and a worthy candidate is available and chosen. There will be deemed no obligation on the part of the Homicide Research Working Group to issue this award every year.

Eligibility for the award is as follows:

1. The thesis must have been completed during the twelve (12) months preceding the application deadline.

2. The winner of the award agrees to present their research at an annual meeting of the Homicide Research Working Group (typically held in June).

3. Application material must include the name and address of the applicant, a copy of the thesis, and a cover letter from the supervising faculty member indicating that the thesis is part of the an accredited program leading to the master’s degree and the thesis has been approved for the degree.

The deadline for nominations is January 31. The Committee will meet to consider the nominations and make a decision by the end of February. Pending approval of the HRWG Steering Committee, those who submitted nominations and those who were nominated will be informed of the Committee’s decision in early March. The Award winner will then be asked to present an overview of their work at the annual HRWG meeting, which is usually held in June. 

Please submit to Averi Fegadel at by January 31st.

Past Award Winners
2023: Eucharia Ozoemenam