Congratulations to our 2024 Richard Block Award recipient, Meagen Abel!

For Outstanding Dissertation Research

To honor the scholarly achievements of Richard Block, as well as his role as co-founder of the Homicide Research Working Group, the membership has established a $500 dissertation award for the outstanding dissertation with a focus on homicide and/or lethal violence. In addition, up to $500 is provided to help cover expenses for the presentation at the annual HRWG meeting, which is usually held in June. One award may be given annually if eligible and a worthy candidate is available and chosen. There will be deemed no obligation on the part of the Homicide Research Working Group to issue this award every year.

Eligibility for the award is as follows:

1. The dissertation must have been completed during the twelve (12) months preceding the application deadline.

2. The winner of the award agrees to present their research at an annual meeting of the Homicide Research Working Group (typically held in June).

3. Application material must include the name and address of the applicant, a copy of the dissertation, and a cover letter from the supervising faculty member indicating that the dissertation is part of the an accredited program leading to the doctorate degree and the dissertation has been approved for the degree.

The deadline for nominations is January 31. The Committee will meet to consider the nominations and make a decision by the end of February. Pending approval of the HRWG Steering Committee, those who submitted nominations and those who were nominated will be informed of the Committee’s decision in early March. The Award winner will then be asked to present an overview of their work at the annual HRWG meeting, which is usually held in June.

Please send any questions or nominations to Wendy Ringgenberg (Chair) prior to the deadline of January 31, 2024.

Past award recipients:
2023: Andrew Gray
2022: Elizabeth Twitty
2021: Paige Vaughn
2020: Millan AbiNader